Improving girls education in Namibia

About Us

Empowering Namibian girls

Empowering Namibian girls

The Forum for African Women Educationalists – Namibia Chapter (FAWENA), is a national chapter of the Pan-African Forum for African Women Educationalists (FAWE) whose headquarters are in Nairobi, Kenya. FAWE was born out of discussions between African Ministers and funding agencies within the Association for Development of Education in Africa (ADEA), a UNESCO-affiliated forum bringing together all 48 Ministries of Education in Sub-Saharan Africa and about 44 agencies funding education in Africa in 1992.

The Forum for African Women Educationalists (FAWE) is a non-governmental organisation. FAWE Namibia's National Chapter opened its office in 1999 with the support of the Ministry of Education (MoE) to help address the educational challenges girls face in Namibia.

Our Vision

To work at national and local levels, together with partners, to create positive societal attitudes, policies and practices that promote equity for girls in terms of access, retention, performance and quality of education by influencing the transformation of the education system in Namibia.

Our Goal

To increase access, improve retention and enhance the quality of education for girls and women in Namibia.

Strategic objectives

Objective 1: Enable change in communities and schools to enhance  the achieve  of the major goals of our education system (Access, Equity, Quality and Democracy).
Objective 2: Document evidence of impact and share good practices with the aim of creating a knowledge base society.
Objective 3: A skilled, vibrant FAWENA network with capacity to deliver the strategic aims and objectives
Objective 4: Strong productive partnerships with like minded individuals, groups and organisations committed to gender equity and equality in education.


FAWENA is also guided by the policies and programs of the Ministry of Education: Education Act, Learner Preventation and Management Pregnancy Policy, Sustainable development goals, Affirmative Action, National Gender Policy, National Development Plan, Millennium Development Plan, Orphan and Vulnerable Children Plan, International Convention instruments, FAWE Regional Secretariat Strategic Plan and FAWE Charter.

FAWENA Executive Committee Members:


Hon. Katrina Hanse-Himarwa,MP,  Minister, Ministry of Education, Art and Culture;
FAWENA Chairperson

Hon. Dr. Becky, R. K. Ndjoze-Ojo, MP, Deputy Minister, Ministry of Higherr Education, Training and Innovation; FAWENA Vice-Chairperson.

Ms. Nillian N. Mulemi, Chief Executive Officer, PetroFund
FAWENA Treasurer

Ms. Victoria Jason, Lab Technician of Electrical Engineering , Polytechnic of Namibia
FAWENA Executive Committee Member

Mr. George U. Kongoro, Principal of Auas Primary School
FAWENA Executive Committee Member

Ms. Fenny Shanjengange, Life skills teacher, Angra Pequena S.S.S; FAWENA Executive Committee Member


FAWENA Kavango Branch:

1. Ms. Maria M. Eises, FAWENA Kavango Chairperson

2. Ms. Scholastica Hausiku, FAWENA Kavango Vice-Chairperson

3. Ms. Foibe Muntenda, FAWENA Treasurer

4. Ms. Christina Shilima, FAWENA Secretary

5. Ms. Patricia Kativa, FAWENA Executive member

6. Ms. Ingrid Kakuru, FAWENA Executive member

7. Mr. Siyamba Immanuel, FAWENA Executive member